Original 500 Hybrid Bike

8165507

B'TWIN

regular journeys and cycling on roads and trails.
The hybrid bike designed with you in mind: aluminium frame, ergonomic saddle and suspension fork. A lightweight and comfortable hybrid bike!

Currently out of stock

Advantages
Versatility21 gears to handle all gradients. B'TWIN hybrid tyres for roads and trails.
User comfortHeight- and tilt-adjustable stem, suspension fork.
Lifetime warrantyB’Twin offers a lifetime warranty on the frame, stem, and handlebar.
Warrantylifetime warranty for:bike frame, stem and handlebars. 2-year warranty for parts.
Technical Informations

1
Frame
Rigid 6061 aluminium frame. Lowered frame makes getting on and off easy. Aluminium for a lighter bike.
2
Fork
Elastomer-dampened suspension fork, made out of 6061 aluminium, with steel dampers. This fork helps absorb shocks and vibrations.
3
Drivetrain
Indexed, 21-speed. Gear change with SRAM Comp grip shifters. This versatile and sturdy drivetrain is suited to most gradients. SHIMANO TZ21 7-speed freewheel. Rust-proof SRAM chain. Front derailleur: SHIMANO TX51. Rear derailleur: SRAM 3.0. Metres of development for a 26" wheel: 1m50 - 6m01. Metres of development for a 28" wheel: 1m76 - 7m02. Chainrings: 48 / 38 / 28. Cogs: 14 / 28.
4
Brakes
Front/rear brakes with steel V-brake callipers. Aluminium brake levers.
5
Handlebar / stem / steering
Semi-raised aluminium handlebars. Height- and tilt-adjustable aluminium stem. Semi-raised position suited for casual bicycle rides and more athletic outings. You can adjust the stem to ensure good upper body posture.
6
Saddle / seat post
Unisex Selle Royal ergonomic foam saddle. Ultra comfortable. Aluminium seat post with built-in clamp. Quick-release saddle clamp. Fast, tool-free saddle adjustment. Seat post diameter: 27.2 mm. Seat clamp collar diameter: 32 mm.
7
Wheels
Single-wall, anodised aluminium rims with machined walls. Machined rims provide efficient, progressive and silent braking. Quick-release steel hubs at the front and bolted on to the axle at the rear. The quick-release system makes it easy to remove the front wheel when transporting your bike.
8
Tyres
B'TWIN hybrid tyres for roads and trails. Tough and flexible tyres adapt to different terrain. Dimensions in size M: 26x 1.75 / in size L: 26x 1.75.
9
Crankset
Versatile, one-piece, plastic pedals. 170 mm forged steel cranks.
10
Accessories / equipment
Bolt-on, battery-powered lights. Mudguard with stays. Pannier rack and stand sold separately. Good coverage mudguard with stays, battery-powered light.
11
Dimensions
Distance from seat post to handlebars: Size M: 630 - 660 mm Size L: 660 - 690 mmDistance from saddle to pedals: Size M: 680 - 890 mm Size L: 760 - 960 mm
12
Weight
Size M = 15.3 kg Size L = 15.4 kg
Characteristics
SizeM (1.55 - 1.72 m) / L (1.73 - 1.85 m)

Weight15.27 kg in size M

Coloursmatt grey

Maximum load100 kg
Information / Concept / Technology
Composition
Frame : 100.0% Aluminium

Stockage tips
Preferably store in a dry place away from damp.

Maintenance tips
Regularly clean and lubricate the drivetrain.

Reviews

Sort by:
Love this bike!
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
Being my first bike I was very apprehensive about picking something that is not comfortable and in turn would disappoint me with the overall biking experience. But after listening to my requirements and biking profile, the sales agent helped me pick the right bike and correct frame size. The price is right and the quality is good. Could not have asked for more. Thanks Decathlon!
Bad cycle
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
I bought an original 700 one month back to do some soft after my 8 to 8 schedule as an orthopedic surgeon in kochi. This is comfortable to ride yes , but the moment I started to do more than 10 KM the cycle started falling apart. The gear system slips all the time. The tyre burst. The gear protector came in my hand. Sad that I had to visit the workshop at decathlon 6 times in a months when I cycle hardly 2 times a week now.
Previously I used to ride a montra blues bike for about 6 years which was absolutely trouble free and was comfortable. The lower end modes of btwin are probably good but the bike worth 35k is not at all up to the mark. Now I am stuck with a product I cannot do anything about . They said they cannot do anything than tune and retune the cycle whenever I brought it to them.
Feeling so sad
Dr Sujit Jos, Kochi
Response of the brand
Hello Sujit, 

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I am sorry that the most comfortable bicycle that we have has caused the mentioned problems. The Original 500 as you mentioned, is one of the most comfortable bikes we have. The users who have purchased the bike, have given some of the best ratings and comments. But it is unfortunate that the bike has not performed to its full ability in your case. For the same reason, I shall take this up with the Kochi store workshop and check with the jobs performed on the bike. We will check why the gears are slipping and see if we have a permanent fix for the same. I request you give me one day while I coordinate with the Kochi store and reach out to you for a solution. 

Deepak BABU WEB.MARK DECATHLON
Tyre sizes
Used for 3 to 6 months
Are you sure that Large size tyres are 26 inces?
Because I bought inner tube for my large size bicycle and It hardly fit the wheel frame.
Very convenient, It is worth its price.
Low quality tyres
hybrid bike
Used for 7 to 12 months
I used this cycle for more than 9 months. In starting it feels most fascinating bike out there but soon I regret at my choice. Its handle rubber grip are so poor after just 6 month of use they became sticky and needed to change. Front gear cogs started giving problem; gear started tripping on 2nd of three gears. I don't think decathlon even care for there customers cause I approached 3 times nearest respective store, two times they told me to come next day and third time they said mine front gears have been wear down, new piece cost around 1500 Rs and no guarantee or warranty. Worker told me to contact next day as he needs to talk to respective dept manager as concerned person is out of station but after two days wait no response . Gel seat is really a heck, yeah for ride longer than 10 minutes ready for sour bums. I am not happy with my purchase. They do not care ;You can not expect customer satisfaction or service even with payment.
Response of the brand
Hello Monty Chambel, 

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Apologies for all the problems you have had to face with our store and with the product. I will need some specific information from you for the right actions to be taken. I would like to know from which store did you purchase the product and is it the same store that you faced the service issue. When did you purchase the bike and what is the number of kilometers done on bike? 



Deepak Babu E-sport manager DECATHLON
GREAT BIKE
Verified purchase What is a review "Verified purchase" ?

Where review is marked as "Verified purchase" confirmed by Decathlon, this means that we could verify that the client who filed this opinion has purchased the product from us.

We can confirm purchases for the reviews expressed on a request by e-mail after purchase or when the customer has this review from his personal space.

If review is not marked as "Verified purchase", this does not mean that the author's review has no experience with the product may have given his review directly on the site without unique identification, or the product has been offered or paid.

The label "Verified purchase" lets help you judge the reliability of a review.
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
Where do I start, I love the style of the frame and the colour. I am impressed with the quality of the finish for the price paid. There have been many bikes that I had had mail order, where I have had to adjust the gears before riding. This bike is the the exception, smooth ride and gear change out of the box !
Would certainly buy another if I needed to.
EVERYTHING
NONE
Not good
Verified purchase What is a review "Verified purchase" ?

Where review is marked as "Verified purchase" confirmed by Decathlon, this means that we could verify that the client who filed this opinion has purchased the product from us.

We can confirm purchases for the reviews expressed on a request by e-mail after purchase or when the customer has this review from his personal space.

If review is not marked as "Verified purchase", this does not mean that the author's review has no experience with the product may have given his review directly on the site without unique identification, or the product has been offered or paid.

The label "Verified purchase" lets help you judge the reliability of a review.
Used for 1 week or less
Got the bike two days after I fall down because apparently there was a faulty in the front.
Went back to the store and got a new back and £40 discount. Maybe was me being unlucky but I won't trust that bike. Imagine if that happen down hill :/ wouldn't be here right now!
I'm glad I was in slow speed and only few scratches on my arm and leg.
Response of the brand
Hello,
I've just picked up your review. I'm glad you're OK.
Could you give me more details regarding the fault?
I look forward to hearing from you.
Regards,
Peter Lazarus UK Cycling Market Manager DECATHLON
btwin original 500 hybrid
Verified purchase What is a review "Verified purchase" ?

Where review is marked as "Verified purchase" confirmed by Decathlon, this means that we could verify that the client who filed this opinion has purchased the product from us.

We can confirm purchases for the reviews expressed on a request by e-mail after purchase or when the customer has this review from his personal space.

If review is not marked as "Verified purchase", this does not mean that the author's review has no experience with the product may have given his review directly on the site without unique identification, or the product has been offered or paid.

The label "Verified purchase" lets help you judge the reliability of a review.
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
Reasonably priced comfortable bike. Ideal for commuting and occasional longer rides but difficult to fit water bottle for the longer rides
economical all round bike.
would not recommend to serious cyclists
Super Amazing Cycle
Used for 3 to 6 months
I used this bike for last two months, now I reduced my 12 kg weight. Every day I am using minimum 20 km. I am not feeling any tired.
great bike
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
Fantastic bike for the price, very comfortable (gel saddle), rolls smoothly with big wheels, very comfortable riding position as can be adjusted in different ways for an upright position, fair weight but not too heavy, sturdy and looks good...bought my previous bike from decathlon 20 years ago and still going strong but this one is very smooth and just great...well done Decathlon!
best bike i have ever had
Verified purchase What is a review "Verified purchase" ?

Where review is marked as "Verified purchase" confirmed by Decathlon, this means that we could verify that the client who filed this opinion has purchased the product from us.

We can confirm purchases for the reviews expressed on a request by e-mail after purchase or when the customer has this review from his personal space.

If review is not marked as "Verified purchase", this does not mean that the author's review has no experience with the product may have given his review directly on the site without unique identification, or the product has been offered or paid.

The label "Verified purchase" lets help you judge the reliability of a review.
Used for 2 to 8 weeks
great ride
so comfort easy to ride